The Department of External Affairs.—The main function of this Department is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad.

The Department is headed by the Secretary of State for External Affairs. At the head of the staff is the Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, with a Deputy Under-Secretary and three Assistant Under-Secretaries. They are assisted by Foreign Service Officers, formally designated Counsellors and First, Second and Third Secretaries.

The work of the Department at Ottawa is carried on through 13 divisions. The three geographical divisions are the Commonwealth, the European and the American and Far Eastern. The seven functional Divisions are: Consular, Defence Liaison, Economic, Information, Legal, Protocol, and United Nations. The three "housekeeping" divisions are Establishments and Organization, Finance, and Personnel. There are two related special sections, Supplies and Properties, and International Conferences. The archives and departmental library are incorporated in a Historical Research and Reports Section and a Press Office arranges press conferences and issues press releases.

The Federal District Commission.—This Commission had its genesis in the Ottawa Improvement Commission, established by Parliament in 1899 to improve and beautify the National Capital by the development and construction of parks and driveways and to co-operate with the City of Ottawa in local improvement and conservation. Its membership is honorary in character and appointed by the Governor in Council, and it reports to the Prime Minister. In 1927 the organization's name was changed to the Federal District Commission, its scope of operations widened to include adjacent areas, and its membership increased to ten. Under the F.D.C. Act the mayors of Ottawa and Hull are included in its membership.

The Commission maintains the grounds of all federal buildings in the National Capital area and landscapes the grounds of new government buildings. In the Ottawa-Hull area (exclusive of Gatineau Park) where it administers 1,878 acres, it has developed 18 parks and 22 miles of scenic driveways.

In 1946 the Commission became the federal agency responsible for carrying out the National Capital Plan. The membership was further increased to permit the appointment of a commissioner resident in each of the provinces and a separate honorary committee was established by the Commission to advise on the development of Gatineau Park. The National Capital Fund, to which Parliament has made annual grants of \$2,500,000 since its inception in 1948, was made available to the Commission to execute the work of the National Capital Plan, and a National Capital Planning Committee was appointed to act as a permanent honorary advisory body to the Commission on the implementation of the Plan. See Chapter I, pp. 31-33, for a brief account of the Commission's work on the National Capital Plan.

The Department of Finance.—The Department of Finance, created in June 1868, is under the authority of the Minister of Finance. The Department is responsible for the financial administration of Canada. It is responsible for the raising of the money required for the various governmental activities by way of taxation or borrowing. The Comptroller of the Treasury, an officer of the Department, is responsible for all Government disbursements.

The Department has an International Economic Relations Division, an Economic Policy Division, Superannuation Branch, Farm Improvement Loans Division, Consumer Credit Division and a Municipal Grants Division. The Royal Canadian Mint is a branch of the Department. The Inspector General of Banks is an officer of the Department.

The Tariff Board and the Canadian Farm Loan Board are responsible to the Minister of Finance.

The Department of Fisheries.—The Department of Fisheries was first organized under a Minister of Fisheries in 1930. Prior to that the federal fisheries services were maintained by the former Department of Marine and Fisheries, established in 1868. The provinces, under various arrangements, have certain administrative responsibilities in the fisheries but the legislative authority for the regulations of coastal and fresh-water fisheries are now with the Federal Department of Fisheries.

The work of the Department includes: conservation and development of the fisheries through the enforcement of fishing regulations, the operation of fish-culture establishments, management and improvement of spawning streams and control of predators; inspection of fish products for quality control and the encouragement of industrial development; promotion of the greatest utilization of fishery products and a proper public understanding of the resource and the industry.

Agencies connected with the Department are the Fisheries Prices Support Board and the Fisheries Research Board of Canada. The Department is also represented on the International Pacific Salmon Fisheries Commission, the International Fisheries (Halibut) Commission and the International Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Commission.

For further details and statistics of the fisheries, see Chapter XIV.